Faith · Lifestyle

Lent Challenge: Bible Study Day 2

Hello there.

Today marks day two in my lent Bible study challenge, I hope you enjoy.

Scripture: ”He cuts off every branch of mine that doesn’t produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more.” John 15:2

Observation: In life there may be times when God decides to cut branches off within our lives, at first we may struggle with this however God does so knowing that the branch is not healthy, nor is it significant for us and our livelihoods. Instead, God decides to protect and care for the branches that produce the most fruit so that the rewards and be enjoyed, all his love and time is embedded into these branches. By God cutting some of the branches, the others have the opportunity and ability to grow, just like I hope to during my lent journey.

Application: I need to be more accepting when God decides to cut certain branches / paths within my life. I need to recognise that God is not doing so in order to be cruel, to challenge me, or to cause distress but instead because he has an ultimate plan and purpose; God knows the branches which require care and attention and the ones which are wasteful and will bring difficulties within the future. I need to give all my trust to God and trust in his plan for me.

Kneeling in Prayer: Lord, please help me to be open to your interventions within my life, help others and myself to trust in your plans and hopes for our future even if they do not makes sense at present. Lord thank you for guiding us and loving us, help us to use our talents or fruits from our branches to serve you and follow your commandments so that we become better individuals. Amen.

With love, Lottie. 

Leave a Reply

